On the road!

First off, I must apologize for the lack of substantive pre-departure updates. Suffice to say, Ive learned a lot about packing and planning for a month long hike with 4 postal resupplies!

Second, I must publicly thank my Lady Friend who was tremendously helpful and patient as my preparations encroached deeper and deeper into pre-departure time that was supposed to be for relaxation together. Thank you for all your support, it was invaluable; cant wait to hike the Chuo-alps with you in two weeks!

Finally, thanks for the well wishes and encouragement Ive been getting today. Everyones interest and support has done a lot to bolster my confidence as I set out on a hike of this scale for the first time. I appreciate it deeply.

My biggest fear was moving myself so far out of my routine for so long: would my personality survive, or would I peal back the layers only to find the facade supported by a lattice of daily drudgery?

But, looking out on ripe rice fields as I speed towards the coast, I feel the irrational and insatiable optimism that has birthed faith and progress into the world, and I feel that everything is in its right place.

I hope you do too.

About hamilton

Walking, Walking!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the road!

  1. PA says:

    Have an amazing ‘journey’, Hamilton. I hadn’t checked your map showing the route you were going to do until today – it looks awesome! Hope it all goes to plan, and good luck!

  2. Maz says:

    Good luck. Look forward to the prosaic report when you get back.

  3. Mami says:

    Hey. I was reading a few of my past posts, and wondered how you were doing. I hope you’re enjoying your journey, one step at a time, wherever you are. I hope to see your updates when you get to it. Hang in there! Mami

Leave a Reply

