Strategic Planning

Problem: Get really excited about something, think a lot about it for three weeks, don’t do it.

Theory: The internet provides  by an ample number of blogs, and then some, that deal with fixing this very common problem.

Seth Godin’s core message finally struck me after more than a year reading his blog. No matter what else you do, no matter your technique, your gear, you have one goal: ship.

If you dream the impossible dream and go after the thing that can’t possibly work, you don’t have to worry about being criticized, you don’t have to worry about the responsibility of shipping (…) After all, it was impossible.

“I Ship!” Sometimes I write it on the palm of my hand. Not shipping (because of fear, the lizard brain) is a perennial problem for me. Yesterday I got worried: am I tangled up in the big stuff so I can ignore the small.

My best advice: win little battles. Get in the habit of winning, of shipping.

Practice: So, now that the big why is settled, time to focus on the small winnable battles. Here are the next winnable battles:

  • Route: Get the framework of the trip down, the length between resupplies, and an estimated end date. Buy the maps, outline a rough plan. Once the frame is up, then other decisions can fall into place…
  • Gear: Pack the bag and do a practice run with what I have now. This will happen in a week and a half. From there, figure out what I need to make, buy, and throw out.
  • Food: Have some idea what I will eat, where I will buy it, and calculate calories per gram.

And that’s enough for now. Time to win some small battles. Time to ship!

…And once those are done,  Hendrik suggested I  make my own Tyvek bivy (translated). Sounds fun.


About hamilton

Walking, Walking!
This entry was posted in Preparations, The Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

